Find out how to temporarily stop a person from seeing your location, without alerting them that you have paused location sharing.
Find out how to temporarily stop a friend or family member from seeing your location, without alerting them that you have paused location sharing.

For context, Find My lets you share your location with other people for an hour, the entire day, or all the time (Google Maps also has a similar location-sharing feature and supports both Android and iOS).
However, when you stop sharing your location in Find My, the other person may still be notified. Or they can go to the Find My app and see that you stopped sharing your location with them. Similarly, restarting location sharing sends an alert, as shown in the screenshot below.

iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27, and watchOS 27 introduce a feature they call “Flexible Location Sharing.” What this does is give you the option to pause location sharing temporarily and resume it, without alerting the other person.
During the pause period, even if the person opens their Find My app to see your location, it just shows an arbitrary “No Location Found.” It doesn’t reveal that you stopped sharing your location with them for a short while.
Pausing the location can be helpful if you’re trying to surprise someone with your visit, go out to buy a gift or an engagement ring for them, and so on.
At the same time, many people on X have shared concern that this new Apple feature encourages cheaters by giving them an option to hide their location from their partners without alerting them.
That said, here’s how to temporarily stop sharing your Find My location with a person without informing them.
iPhone or iPad1) Update your iPhone or iPad to iOS 27 or iPadOS 27 (currently both are in beta stage).
2) Open the Find My app, go to the People tab, and tap the person’s name.
3) Tap the recently revealed three-dot menu icon in their name tile.
![]()
4) Tap Hide Location in the My Location section and confirm. You’ll see a label that indicates when temporary location sharing resumes automatically, or you can return to this screen before that and tap Unhide Location.

The steps to hide your location temporarily using the Find My app on Mac are similar to those on iOS.

watchOS 27 has unified three separate apps – Find Devices, Find Items, and Find People – into a single app called Find My, as it has been on iOS and macOS.
Follow these steps to temporarily pause location sharing from your wrist.

What do you think of this new feature? In which situations do you think this will be helpful to you? Or do you agree with people on X who say it encourages cheaters?
Also, check out: How to share your live location with others from your iPhone
| # | Наименование новости | Тональность | Информативность | Дата публикации |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | How to create temporary shared iCloud album in iOS 27 | 0 | 23.67 | 25-06-2026 |
| 2 | Apple Adds a New Privacy Feature That Limits How Carriers Track Your iPhone’s Location | 0 | 5.87 | 02-02-2026 |
| 3 | How to enable the hidden Siri UI in macOS 27 | 0 | 24.73 | 17-08-2026 |
| 4 | Tips to customize the new iOS 27 Siri app on iPhone or Mac | 0 | 18.38 | 06-08-2026 |
| 5 | How to save a slideshow as a video on iPhone, iPad, and Mac | 0 | 17.46 | 02-07-2026 |
| 6 | How to remove local Apple Intelligence files from Mac | 0 | 20.73 | 04-08-2026 |
| 7 | Apple Sat On 'Hide My Email' Flaw Leaking Real iCloud Addresses For Over A Year | -5 | 6 | 02-07-2026 |
| 8 | Как при помощи iPhone друга найти свой потерянный iPhone, iPad или Mac | 0 | 7 | 18-04-2026 |
| 9 | Функция Apple для скрытия почты начала… раскрывать настоящий адрес | -2 | 6 | 02-07-2026 |
| 10 | Apple’s Hide My Email has been leaking real addresses for a year | -5 | 7 | 01-07-2026 |